Iconautes : Images/Usages Project website

Vessels of the Argonauts for the wedding celebration of Cosimo de' Medici in 1608, Ships of Argonauts realized for the marriage of Cosme de Medicis in 1608: the ship of Asterion. Engraving, after Giulo Parigi. British Museum. (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Welcome, Iconauts*!

Images / Uses: The Project

The Images / Usages project launched in July 2017 and is managed by the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art on behalf of, and with funding from, the Fondation de France. This website documents information and resources gathered as part of the project.

The project aims to gain a greater understanding of how visual arts professionals source and use fine art images, and to take a closer look at the impact of the legal copyright framework on working practices. The project will also examine how interpretations of copyright legislation vary and guide current modes of image rights management by copyright owners, be they public or private. To this end, the team are conducting interviews with a cross-section of stakeholders from the worlds of research, education, museums and publishing, with artists and with legal advisors specialised in intellectual property. A report will be submitted to the Fondation de France at the end of summer 2018 and an international conference on image rights, research and teaching in art history from a European perspective will be held in the autumn of the same year.

Mare Imaginum

In the digital age, we are all Iconauts on a quest to source fine arts images. The websites we encounter along the way can uncover hidden gems or become the stuff of nightmares. Some websites are Ali-Baba caves that open sesame and generously offer their images for reuse and recreation. Others look more like terrae incognitae; off the map, poorly promoted, and of insufficient quality, proving surprisingly challenging to use, or prohibitively expensive. In general, for the Iconaut, the landscape is foggy, and navigation can be time-consuming and risky.

What we do

By associating this online platform with the current study, which is primarily intended for art historians and archaeologists, but also for all those who use visual art documents in their work, we aim to spread the word and facilitate access to useful content. In all sections of the site, particular attention is paid to the question of user practices and uses, and the conditions of access to images.

We cover the news of the subject in a broad sense, in both a French and international perspective. Our team presents curated selections of reference texts and promising initiatives (News), project reviews and best practices on the web (Articles), documentation on cultural Open Access sites as well as end-user licenses (Resources).

Feel free to share your suggestions, observations and experiences by writing to iconautes [at] inha.fr



* Iconauts – this playful term might remind you of the Argonauts, literally meaning “sailors of Argo”, the adventurers who took to the sea to recuperate the Golden Fleece. Sailors in a sea of images or icons, we are indeed all, iconauts.


Project Director : Martine Denoyelle, Conservateur en chef du Patrimoine, Chargée de mission Prospective Numérique à l'Institut national d'histoire de l'art

Project Manager : Katie Durand, Digital project manager

Project Assistant : Elli Doulkaridou-Ramantani, PhD student, Université de Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne

Technical Assistants : Alain Defrance, Service des Systèmes d'Information, INHA; Hélène Boubée, chargée de communication web, INHA.

Logo : Marc Riou, Service de la diffusion scientifique et de la communication, INHA.

The main outcome of the project will be a report entitled Droit des images, histoire de l'art et société (Image rights, Art History and Society). Based on interviews, consultations and working groups held with visual arts professionals in France and beyond, including researchers, artists, copyright specialists and professionals from the publishing, museums, heritage and digital sectors, the report will give an overview of the current situation in France, a list of best practices and a series of proposals based on models that have been tried and tested elsewhere. 

The report will be submitted to the Fondation de France and published on the project website in Autumn 2018.

14 October 2017

INHA Crowdsourcing Workshop: MagnaGreciaOpenData

Project poster - open the poster in a larger window

With the support of the Fondation de France, the INHA held a day long crowdsourcing workshop on the 14 October 2017 to contribute content to Wikipedia, Wikimedia and Wikidata. Assisted by expert Wikipedians, pHD students, post-doctorates and scholars specialised in Ancient Greece populated the Wikimedia repository with personal photos (under CC-BA-SY licenses), new or improved Wikipedia pages, and new categories to improve the quality of documentation in French.

This day is hoped to be the first of many in an effort to build an open and structured visual and textual repository on the topic. Further sessions are under discussion in France and abroad.

Project page (in French)  

Outcomes of the day (in French)

4 June 2017

Round table on Fair Use and Open Content: American responses to new practices in image use at the Art History Festival in Fontainebleau

Photo Anne-Lise Desmas

In the United States, the College Art Association (CAA) joined forces with several large museums to conduct a study into the use of fine arts images today. This resulted in the publication of the Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts. Hunter O'Hanian (CAA), Mikka Gee Conway (Getty Research Institute) and Hana Leaper (Paul Mellon Center, London) presented the growing policy of opening access to images from an institutional perspective.

A second event was organised by ICOM on the 6 June at the Musée des Arts et Métiers in Paris: Copyright Flexibilities in the US and EU: How Fair Use and Other Flexibilities are Helping Museums to Fulfill their Mission. Following this a meeting was held at the Terra Foundation for members of the CAA and representatives of European countries.

Find out more on the College Art Association website.

Iconautes : le site du projet Images/Usages

Vaisseaux des Argonautes réalisé pour le mariage de Cosme de Medicis en 1608: le vaisseau d'Astérion. Gravure, d'après Giulo Parigi. British Museum.(CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Amis Iconautes, bienvenue !

 

Images/Usages: le projet

Carnet de bord et espace d’information ouvert à tous, ce site est attaché au projet Images/Usages, lancé en juillet 2017 par l’Institut national d’histoire de l’art, à l'initiative et avec le support de la Fondation de France.

L'objectif premier du projet est un audit des pratiques existant autour de l'image dans le monde professionnel des arts visuels, assorti d' un constat détaillé de l'impact sur ces pratiques des législations sur le droit d'auteur, de la façon dont elles sont interprétées et des modes de gestion actuels des droits des images par leurs détenteurs, publics ou privés. Pour ce faire, l'équipe a commencé à mener des entretiens qui se poursuivront jusqu'au printemps 2018 auprès de divers acteurs du monde de la recherche,  de l'enseignement, des musées et de l'édition, sans oublier les juristes spécialisés dans la propriété intellectuelle et les artistes. Un livre blanc sera rendu à la Fondation de France à la fin de l'été 2018, et une journée d'études internationale sur droit des images, recherche et enseignement en histoire de l'art dans une perspective européenne sera organisée à l'automne de la même année.

Mare Imaginum

A l'âge digital, nous sommes tous des Iconautes, et les sites d'images d'oeuvres d'art que nous parcourons au fil de nos navigations sont autant de découvertes, bonnes ou mauvaises... Pour certains, mais ils sont encore trop rares, ce sont de véritables cavernes d'Ali-Baba qui s'ouvrent aujourd'hui  sans sésame et livrent généreusement leurs images à la réutilisation et à la recréation. Pour d'autres, de véritables terrae incognitae non cartographiées, mal signalisées, et où les images peuvent se révéler décevantes, plus difficiles à utiliser que prévu, ou étonnamment coûteuses. De manière générale, pour l'Iconaute, le paysage est brumeux et les navigations longues et incertaines...

Ce que nous faisons

C'est pourquoi nous avons souhaité associer à l'enquête en cours cet espace en ligne destiné en premier lieu aux historiens d'art et archéologues, mais aussi à tous ceux qui usent de documents visuels sur l'art dans le cadre de leurs pratiques professionnelles. Dans toutes les rubriques du site, une attention particulière est portée à la question des pratiques et usages des utilisateurs,  et à celle des conditions de l'accès aux images.

Nous couvrons l'actualité du sujet au sens large et dans une perspective française autant qu'internationale: signalement d'écrits, d'événements et d'initiatives innovantes (Actualités), recensions de sites, de projets, présentation de principes et pratiques du web (Articles), documentation sur l'Open Access culturel, les sites et les régimes d'images, les licences d'utilisation (Ressources).

Nous accueillerons avec plaisir vos suggestions, signalements et témoignages à : iconautes[at]inha.fr

Directrice du projet : Martine Denoyelle, conservateur en chef du Patrimoine, chargée de mission Prospective Numérique à l'Institut national d'histoire de l'art

Chef de projet : Katie Durand, chef de projet en ingéniérie documentaire

Chargée de projet : Elli Doulkaridou-Ramantani, doctorante, Université de Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne

Assistance et conseil technique : Alain Defrance, Service des Systèmes d'Information, INHA; Hélène Boubée, chargée de communication web, INHA.

Logo : Marc Riou, Service de la diffusion scientifique et de la communication, INHA.

La remise à la Fondation de France et la publication en ligne d'un Livre blanc intitulé Droit des images, histoire de l'art et société constituent le premier objectif du projet Images/Usages. Fondé sur des entretiens avec les professionnels des arts visuels en France et à l'étranger, sur des consultations et séminaires de travail avec des experts du monde de l'édition, du droit, du patrimoine culturel, de la culture digitale et des artistes, ce rapport dressera un état des lieux de l'accès aux images d'oeuvres d'art en France aujourd'hui, une liste de bonnes pratiques  et présentera une liste de propositions fondées sur les récents retours d'expérience en France et à l'étranger. 

La publication est prévue à l'automne 2018.

14 octobre 2017

Journée contributive MagnaGreciaOpenData à l'INHA

Le 14 octobre 2017 a eu lieu à l'INHA, en salle Chastel, avec le soutien de la Fondation de France,  une journée contributive à Wikipedia, Wikimedia et Wikidata. Avec l'aide de Wikipédiens chevronnés, doctorants, post-doctorants et chercheurs spécialisés dans l'étude de la Grande Grèce ont enrichi le répertoire Wikimedia de photos personnelles (licence CC-BA-SY),  complété ou créé des pages Wikipedia et créé des catégories pour améliorer la lisibilité de la documentation en français sur leur domaine.

Cette journée se veut une première étape dans la construction d'une documentation textuelle et visuelle ouverte et structurée. De prochaines séances sont à l'étude en France et à l'étranger.

Page du projet

Bilan de la journée

 

4 juin 2017

Table ronde Fair use et Open Content Les réponses américaines aux nouvelles pratiques de l'image, au Festival de l'histoire de l'art à Fontainebleau


Photo Anne-Lise Desmas

 Aux États-Unis, les responsables de College Art Association et ceux de plusieurs grands musées ont mené sur l'utilisation des images d'oeuvres d'art une réflexion dont les résultats sont aujourd’hui visibles avec le Code du Fair Use pour les Arts Visuels et la cession des droits des images, ou Open Content. Hunter O'Hanian (CAA), Mikka Gee Conway (GRI) et Hana Leaper (Paul Mellon Center) ont présenté au cours de cette table ronde divers aspects institutionnels de ces politiques d'ouverture. A la faveur d'un deuxième événement organisé le 6 juin par l'ICOM au Musée des Arts et Metiers, Copyright Flexibilities in the US and EU: How Fair Use and Other Flexibilities are Helping Museums to Fulfill their Mission, une réunion s'est tenue le même jour à la Terra Foundation Europe entre membres de CAA et représentants de pays européens.

Voir le résumé sur le site de College Art Association